Source: Warcry FAQ 31/01/2023
Q: Can I use Bladeborn fighters from the Tome of Champions or White Dwarf in Warcry?
A: Yes; use the rules found on page 91 of White Dwarf 482 to do so.
Q: Is the attacker red and the defender blue?
A: No. Attacker and defender are determined before the battleplan is determined, once both players have picked their warbands.
Q: Can a fighter stand on a platform if their base hangs over the edge of that platform?
A: Yes, as long as centre of that fighter’s base is on that platform.
Q: Can a fighter stand on two platforms at once?
A: Yes, as long as the centre of that fighter’s base is on one of those plaftorms.
Q: When climbing stairs, is the distance measured diagonally?
Q: Can I split a fighter’s attacks between different models when that fighter makes an attack action?
Q: Some rules add to or subtract from the damage points allocated by hits and/or critical hits from an attack action. In cases like this, does this apply to every hit and every critical hit scored by that attack action?
A: Yes. For example, the ‘Sneaky Stab’ ability is worded ‘… add the value of this ability to the damage points allocated to enemy fighters by each critical hit from that attack action.’ This means that if the attack action scored 2 critical hits, and the value of the ability was 3, 6 additional damage points would be allocated by that attack action (3+3).
Q: Some rules add to or subtract from the damage points allocated by hits from an attack action. In cases like this, does this apply to every hit and every critical hit scored by that attack action?
A: No. Where an ability affects critical hits, it will specify this.
Q: Are reactions abilities?
Q: When a fighter spends a level of renown, for example to make a ‘ free’ reaction, does that fighter lose that level of renown?
A: No. A ‘spent’ level of renown simply cannot be used to make a ‘free’ reaction again later in the battle.
Q: Are fighters visible to themselves?
Q: Can I choose the user as the target of an ability that requires the target to be visible?
A: No. Fighters are not visible to themselves.
Q: If an ability allows another friendly fighter to make a bonus action (e.g. ‘Beastmaster’), when is that bonus action carried out?
Q: If a fighter has two rules that would give them bonus actions at the same time (for example, a Slaves to Darkness hero with the Eight-horned Helm and the Champion of Darkness ability) how do I resolve those bonus actions?
A: Choose which of the rules you want to use first, resolve that rules in its entirety, then resolve the other rule in its entirety.
Q: If an ability can only be used if a fighter is within a certain range of ‘a fighter’, ‘an enemy fighter’, ‘a piece of terrain’ etc. can that ability be used if the fighter is within range of more than one of the required fighters/objects?
Q: If an ability allows a fighter’s hit rolls to score a critical hit on a 4+, but that fighter’s hit rolls require a 5+ to hit because of the attack’s Strength and the target’s Toughness, do rolls of 4 score a critical hit or miss?
A: They score a critical hit.
Q: Can I give an artefact of power to any fighter in my warband?
A: Yes, unless another rule specifically forbids that.
Q: If we draw a victory card that cannot be won because of terrain placement, what should we do?
A: In cases like this, draw another victory card.
Q: Some abilities affect friendly fighters within a certain distance of the user e.g. ‘Fight for Profit’ or ‘Ignited Fervour’. Does the user themselves benefit from those abilities?
A: Yes, unless the ability refers to ‘other friendly fighters’ or requires the fighters affected by the ability to be visible to the user (fighters are not visible to themselves).
Disciples Of Tzeentch: Daemons
Q: The abilities ‘Split’, and ‘Split Again’ add new fighters to your warband. How does this interact with victory cards that relate to the number of fighters in a battle group and/ or warband?
A: The new fighters are added to your warband but are not part of any battle group.
Q: If a Horror uses either the ‘Split’ or the ‘Split Again’ ability, can the new Horrors activate in that battle round? A: Yes.
Q: How does the Recite from the Book of Woes ability work?
A: Until the end of the round, enemy fighters cannot use abilities while they are within 3" of the fighter that used the ability. This has no effect on abilities used by fighters more than 3" from the fighter that used the ability. It also has no effect on reactions.